Ajou History

Developmnt & Growth (1981~1990)

Development & Growth

In 1981, Ajou Engineering College was raised to university status as Ajou University with three colleges, including Engineering, Business Administration and Humanities, and ten departments. A graduate school was set up that same year together with programs in Mechanical Engineering, Electronics Engineering, and Chemical Engineering. Doctoral programs were also created in the same departments a year later.

On the 10th anniversary of the University in 1983, Ajou University established a ‘ten-year development plan’ which envisaged its future image. According to the plan, the College of Social Sciences was founded in 1985, the College of Humanities and Natural Sciences were separated into two independent colleges in 1987, and the College of Medicine was founded in 1988. These changes provided a steppingstone for the development of fundamental studies and applied sciences, which served as a growth engine for Ajou University.

In addition, Sungho Hall, Central Library, Songjae Hall, and the Institute of Industrial Education buildings were completed. Special graduate schools, such as the Graduate School of Industry and the Graduate School of Business Administration, enlarged the university’s role and commitment to life-long education.